Anyone who has been arrested for DWI is aware of the major ramifications such an arrest carries. In addition to losing your license, you likely paid serious fines and penalties, lost work days to court, and generally were subject to a significant amount of stress. Being arrested for a second or subsequent DWI, however, carries even more severe consequences, and can bring immense upheaval into your life. If you have multiple DWI offenses, it is very important to have an experienced Dallas DWI defense attorney by your side.
Why Multiple Texas DWI’s are More Serious
The more times you are arrested for DWI, the more serious the charges against you become and the more the penalties you face are enhanced. The state of Texas treats DWI very seriously, especially given the statistics. In 2014, 667 deaths, the majority of fatal crashes in Texas, involved alcohol. Also, Texas has no lookback period. This means even if you were arrested for a DWI 25 years ago, you will still be charged as a multiple offender if arrested a quarter century later.
Penalties for a Second DWI Offense in Dallas, Texas:
If you are charged for a second time with DWI, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and can serve up to one year in jail. Your license can also be suspended for up to 2 years. There will be other costs as well, including fines to have your license reinstated and keep it active for the next three years after your serve your suspension. These $2,000 annual fees to keep your license after reinstatement are on top of the actual criminal sentence, which can range from up to two years in prison, 80 to 200 hours of community service, and a fine of up to $4,000. You may also be required to attend a substance abuse program, if the court thinks it is in your best interest. Ignition interlock (the device you have to blow in to start your car) is mandatory.
Third or Subsequent DWI Arrest in Texas
A third or subsequent arrest for DWI is a grave legal matter, and you will face felony DWI charges. Texas law will also require your car be fitted with an ignition interlock device as a condition of your release. A device like this works similar to a breath test, and your car will not start until you blow into the machine. If you have any alcohol in your bloodstream, your car will not start.
The penalty for a third degree felony in Texas is a prison term of at least two years and as many as ten years, with an accompanying fine of up to $10,000. You will also be required to complete anywhere from 160 to 600 hours of community service. You also face a loss of driving privileges that will range from six months to two years after your sentence is served.
John M. Cook is Ready to Defend You
If you are in a situation where you are facing a second or subsequent DWI conviction, you need to speak with a skilled DWI defense attorney today. Attorney John M. Cook is ready to defend you and protect your rights to the maximum extent allowed by law. His prior experience as a police officer, detective, and prosecutor make him the best possible advocate, as he is aware of any and every angle the prosecutor may use against you. Call our Dallas Law Office at 214-521-6679 today, or email Mr. Cook for a free initial consultation.