Practice Areas

John M. Cook is considered by many (especially former clients) as the best DWI lawyer in the Dallas area and one of the best lawyers in all of DFW, and he can handle your case, whether it is for driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated (or boating while intoxicated), drug possession, murder, or any other criminal case. John M. Cook also successfully represents clients accused of the use of force with a firearm and Texas parks and wildlife violations. Specific areas that Mr. Cook can defend you in include:

  • Federal Defense
    • Drug Trafficking
    • Mail Fraud
    • Wire Fraud
    • Identity Theft
    • Child Pornography
  • Felony Charges
    • Murder
    • Aggravated Sexual Assault
    • Gun Charges
    • Other Violent Crimes
    • Drug Crimes
    • Online Solicitation
    • Child Pornography
    • Felony DWI
  • Misdemeanor Charges
    • DWI
    • Theft
    • Possession of Marijuana
    • Simple Assault
    • Unlawful Carrying of a Weapon
  • Juvenile Charges
    • Theft
    • Assault
    • Sexual Assault
    • Drug and Alcohol Possession
    • Burglary
    • DWI

Felonies in Texas

There are five classes of felonies in Texas: state jail felonies, first degree, second degree, and third degre felonies, and capital felonies. The circumstances and severity of the crime and the criminal history of the person being charged will determine which category the charge falls into.

Capital Felonies

Capital felonies carry the most severe penalties if convicted; punishment is either life in prison without parole, or the death penalty. The death penalty can only be given if the prosecutor seeks it; otherwise the punishment is life without parole. Only capital murder is a capital felony.

First Degree Felonies

First degree felonies are the next most serious class of crime in Texas, and are punishable by no less than five years and no more than 99 years in prison, and a fine of $10,000. Examples of Third Degree felonies include sexual assault against a child, aggravated robbery, some murders, and arson of a home.

Class II Felonies

Second degree felonies are punishable by no less than two years and no more than 20 years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000. Those convicted of second degree felonies include those convicted of causing severe injury to a member of the family, those convicted of theft of property worth more than $100,000, and those convicted intoxicated manslaughter.

Third Degree Felonies

Third degree felonies are punishable by no less than two years and no more than ten years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000. Third Degree felonies include possession of 50 or more pounds of marijuana, or a drive-by shooting with no resulting injury.

State Jail Felony

This is the least serious felony charge in Texas, but is still punishable by no less than six months (180 days) and no more than two years in prison, and still with a maximum potential fine of $10,000. This type of felony can be charged for the theft of livestock (or any property) of between $1500 and $20,000, or for debit or credit card abuse or fraud. If, however, you have been previously convicted of a felony or used a deadly weapon during the crime in question, you can be charged with a third degree felony instead.

Misdemeanors in Texas

A misdemeanor is a lesser offense than a felony, and therefore convictions come with far lower fines and less possible jail time. There are three types of misdemeanors in Texas: Class A, Class B, and Class C. The statute of limitations for misdemeanors in Texas is two years.

Class A Misdemeanor

A Class A misdemeanor is punishable with jail time of up to a year, and a fine not exceeding $4000. Class A misdemeanors in Texas include DWI 2nd, some burglary charges, the theft of property valued between $500 and $1,500, the theft of cable services, and stalking without bodily injury.

Class B Misdemeanor

A Class B misdemeanor is punishable with jail time of up to 180 days and a fine of no more than $2000. Class B misdemeanors include the theft of property worth more than $50 but less than $500, DWI, and possession of four ounces or less of marijuana.

Class C Misdemeanor

A Class C misdemeanor is punishable with a fine not larger than $500, and no jail time accompanies a conviction. Examples of Class C misdemeanors include the theft of property worth less than $50, assault with no bodily injury, and selling or writing term papers for others.

If you are facing criminal charges in the Dallas area or anywhere throughout the State of Texas, felony or misdemeanor, it is important to have a skilled defense lawyer on your side as early as possible. If this is you, contact the Dallas Law Offices of John M. Cook today. Call 214-521-6679 or email Mr. Cook for a free initial consultation.